Ultimate Motivators…Wheelchair Bodybuilders!

ImageImage

There are some days when I need a little bit more motivation than I can muster up to hit the gym (those days when visions of the body I want just don’t get me off the couch). I may listen to some music to get pumped or flip through some fitness magazines to get me up and moving. Or, scour YouTube and watch some bodybuilding videos, which always get me hype! (I can’t get enough of watching those Kai Greene videos. The guy is a bodybuilding beast!)

Moving along…

So, the other day I was watching a bodybuilding documentary. In one of the shots, I noticed a really ripped guy with big bulging muscles. It wasn’t until seconds later that I noticed he was in a wheelchair. Days later, this guy was still on my mind. I want to know who that guy is, I thought.Thus, I proceed to Google “wheelchair bodybuilder guy.” Now, I am aware of the Special Olympics and other athletic competitions for those with disabilities, but I seriously thought that this guy was the only wheelchair-bound bodybuilder in the world. That’s until my search led me to several men and women wheelchair bodybuilders. Not just bodybuilders, but IFBB pro bodybuilders!

I am sure these amazing men and women are known throughout the bodybuilding and fitness communities, but I was genuinely surprised to learn that the IFBB hosted a competitive category for those wheelchair-bound. These men and women are more than portraits of physical strength. They are examples of extraordinary people who, when faced with unfortunate circumstances, didn’t simply stop living—competitors who didn’t let their disability stop them from pursuing their passion. These men and women are the ultimate motivators! Not only do I feel like I can overcome my battle with the bulge, I feel like I can win the battle against anything that life throws my way.

Photos: wheelchair-bodybuilding.com

Best-

Brown Belle Fitness

Leave a Reply

